Issues with maintaining member registers

One major area I’m super excited about when it comes to the development of the co-op passport is solving problems with maintaining member registers.

Resonate’s development history is a great use-case showing how the passport could be a fundamental technology for maintaining non-local member registries.

In 2015, being a website developer by trade, I started a basic WordPress-based directory on the website, showcasing the artists that wanted to join the initiative. This then led to our first crowd campaign and this is where the struggles started:

• First, we had a directory based in WordPress, with artists, labels, volunteers and of course listeners.
  • Next, we did a crowd campaign on a brand new platform. All sales (memberships and supporter shares) were tracked there, which resulted in a bunch of spreadsheets at the end of the campaign.
  • Supporter shares then had to be manually entered back on the wordpress site. Since we now had some funds to build our first player (but not enough for a full platform) that meant that we continued to build out the wordpress-based directory and profile/identity system.
  • We also moved on-going signups and share purchases back into the wordpress site, soon after the crowd-campaign concluded.
  • That meant a great deal of work reconciling original purchases (memberships and shares) from the crowd campaign with the expanding wordpress-based site.

Bit of a mess, huh?

It got even worse in that some of the custom code for our first music player was also used for displaying those shares in listener profiles. (Can’t remember how many times I wrote a variation of “don’t worry, your shares are duly recorded even if they’re not displaying properly in your profile”.)

So of course, when I think about the kinds of features that the passport will provide I get super excited:

• a solid system of KYC (co-op member identification and verification)
  • cryptographically signed transaction logs